Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 173 Modern-Era nominees for 2024 class

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the 173 Modern-Era players who have been nominated for election in 2024.

Players must have played five full seasons and be retired for five years in order to be eligible for nomination. There are nine players who last played in 2018 and have been nominated in their first year of eligibility.

The group is headlined by former Panthers, Bears, and Packers defensive end Julius Peppers and former Chargers tight end Antonio Gates. It also includes wide receivers Brandon Marshall and Jordy Nelson; running back Jamaal Charles; offensive linemen T.J. Lang, Josh Sitton and Max Unger, and defensive lineman Haloti Ngata.

A semifinal group of 25 players will be announced in November and the group will be cut to 15 and 10 before the selection committee votes on five finalists. The committee will also consider Seniors finalists Randy Gradishar, Steve McMichael and Art Powell and Coach/Contributor finalist Buddy Parker, so there could be as many as nine inductees next year.

The full list of nominees is listed below by position:

Quarterbacks: Marc Bulger, Randall Cunningham, Jake Delhomme, Doug Flutie, Rich Gannon, Jeff Garcia, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Michael Vick.

Running backs/Fullbacks: Shaun Alexander, Terry Allen, Mike Alstott, Jamal Anderson, Tiki Barber, Michael Bates, Jamaal Charles, Larry Centers, Stephen Davis, Corey Dillon, Warrick Dunn, Charlie Garner, Eddie George, Ahman Green, Priest Holmes, Steven Jackson, Chris Johnson, Daryl Johnston, Thomas Jones, John Kuhn, Vonta Leach, Dorsey Levens, Jamal Lewis, Eric Metcalf, Glyn Milburn, Lorenzo Neal, Tony Richardson, Robert Smith, Fred Taylor, Chris Warren, Ricky Watters, Brian Westbrook, Ricky Williams.

Wide receivers: Anquan Boldin, Troy Brown, Donald Driver, Antonio Freeman, Irving Fryar, Dante Hall, Devin Hester, Torry Holt, Joe Horn, Andre Johnson, Chad Johnson, Brandon Marshall, Derrick Mason, Herman Moore, Muhsin Muhammad, Jordy Nelson, Andre Rison, Jimmy Smith,…

Source link :

Author : ProFootball Talk on NBC Sports

Publish date : 2023-09-19 15:30:09

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source.

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 173 Modern-Era nominees for 2024 class &   -/- According to Luke Fickell, Wisconsin is ‘all-in’ on NIL   Barbie film hits $1bn mark at global box office   Zhuhai Championships: Andy Murray loses to Aslan Karatsev in last 16   Breece Hall named Jets’ offensive X-factor for 2023   Soundking AK20 BA Amplificateur pour Basse   -*-$$DAKINE Split Roller Mallette ordinateur à roulettes, 21 cm, 110 L, Carbon   Veuve Clicquot – Coffret Retraite V.Clicquot Rose   Enceinte Mobile 700W Sono Active DJ KARAOKE 12″ Autonome Batterie à LED RVB + Micro VHF USB/SD/Bluetooth – LedWood Boostar1400   Volkswagen: IT-Störung bei Volkswagen behoben   Newcastle adds BetMGM UK to its bookmaker alliances   $$* Amalia   El Rancho Place d’Italie, Centre commercial Italie 2, place d’Italie 75013 Paris   $ Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 173 Modern-Era nominees for 2024 class *Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 173 Modern-Era nominees for 2024 class