NFL Honors 2024: C.J. Stroud wins Offensive Rookie of the Year, becoming first Texans player to capture honor



C.J. Stroud has been named the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year, the first Houston Texans player to win the award in franchise history. Stroud was responsible for leading the Texans to an 11-6 record and an AFC South division title in his rookie season. The team matched the number of victories it had in the three prior seasons combined before it drafted Stroud (2020-22). 

Stroud, combined with rookie head coach DeMeco Ryans, became just the third rookie quarterback-head coach duo to win a playoff game since 1950, joining Joe Flacco and John Harbaugh (2008) and Mark Sanchez and Rex Ryan (2009). Stroud finished his rookie season completing 63.9% of his passes for 4,108 yards with 23 touchdowns to five interceptions for a 100.8 passer rating, leading the NFL in pass yards per game (273.8) and having the lowest interception rate (1.0%).

The highest-drafted rookie quarterback to win a playoff game (No. 2 overall),…

Source link :

Author : Jeff Kerr

Publish date : 2024-02-09 04:00:22

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source.